Text Size
What is Ergonomics About IEA IEA Projects IEA Projects IEA Awards Member's Area
Introduction Council Executive Committee Standing Committee Technical Committee Sustaining Members


Schu Schutte
Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)
CSIR NRE (Mining)
PO Box 91320
Auckland Park, South Africa
Tel +27 113580000
Fax +27 114823267
Email: pschutte@csir.co.za

Robin Burgess-Limerick
Burgess-Limerick & Associates
12 Ardoyne Rd
Corinda, 4075 Brisbane
Email: robin@burgess-limerick.com

Contact Schu Schutte for more information or to join this Technical Committee
Email: pschutte@csir.co.za


  1. Develop a practical framework, based on best practice, for the general implementation of ergonomic programmes at mines.
  2. Encourage the incorporation of sound ergonomics principles in the design of mining vehicles and mining equipment.
  3. Identify casual factors associated with the development of musculoskeletal disorders in mining and associated preventative strategies.


To implement the above objectives this TC creates Working Groups, with members as follows:

WG1: Ergonomics programmes at mines
Dr. Barbara McPhee, Jim Knowles Group, NSW Australia

WG2: Design of mining vehicles and mining equipment
Dr. Robin Burgess-Limerick, Burgess-Limerick & Associates, Brisbane, Australia

WG3: Musculoskeletal disorders in mining
Dr. Elias Apud, University of Concepcion, Chile

Action Plan

Activities Description Responsible Milestones
1. Liason
Promote TC activities within national ergonomics societies and related disciplines
All Working Groups
June 2009
Report at TC meeting at IEA 2009
2. Session and Panel
Presentation of research papers and panel discussion on design of mining equipment
All working groups. WG2 to arrange for panel discussion
5 papers and 1 panel with 5 panelists
2 sessions on Mining Ergonomics at the IEA Congress 2009